Waterplay

2015-12-01 23.23.37

Today is a friend’s birthday. It’s been a long time since I last seen her (she returned to Japan in 2010), but I still think of her whenever this time of the year rolls around.

For the past few years, I have seen her grow from a shy high school student to a confident young woman, via the pictures she posts on Facebook.

2015-12-01 23.17.45

Thinking of her birthday reminds me of amother person’s birthday. That person was a mutual friend, who had a birthday seven days after my first friend’s.

While that person and I never were particularly close- not from a lack of trying- I do think of them from time to time. I also think about what that person taught me: just because something is considered “ideal” by others, it doesn’t mean that it is “ideal” for me.

2015-12-01 23.19.27

We are constantly being told what we should want or how we should do things by others. Sometimes it’s through marketing. Sometimes it’s just part of our personal cultures. Sometimes it’s because someone else wants us to fall into a certain roll in their lives. Regardless of the reason, sometimes our personal preferences or desires may not mesh with these ideals, and that’s alright.

Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

Leave a Reply

