A Little Peace & Quiet

IMG_20150819_082058~2

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about why silence is seen as a thing to be avoided, here in the States. People here seem so uncomfortable to let a conversation lapse for any period of time. Most people I know need to keep some sort of background noise going at all times of the day and night. But for the life of me, I am finding it hard to understand it.

I admit that I love to listen to music and audio books (especially at work– if only to keep me awake & working) but there are plenty of times where I just need to disconnect. That means, no headphones, no talking, no nothing. Not even an internal monologue…

People have taken to asking me if I’m alright. While I do have somethings on my mind, I have taken a greater liking to silence since starting a full time job.

  1. I try to take a minute or two after I wake up, a bit of time after I get to work (but before I enter the office) and once I get home for the day. I sit quietly, sipping a beverage or eating a snack, and enjoying life. I get very irritable should I not get these moments.
Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

One thought on “A Little Peace & Quiet”

Leave a Reply

