Holiday Leftovers

IMG_20150107_180815

No, no, it’s not what you think! I don’t still have food left over from Christmas in my refrigerator, don’t worry. I’m not talking about those sorts of leftovers.

I mean leftover holiday displays. Around where I live, a lot of people still have their decorations up. This might be due to the recent cold spell we have found ourselves trapped in, but it seems like there’s just more left out than in previous years.

As I said in previous posts, it seemed like the holiday sprit has been stronger than usual. I don’t know if that’s because of all the other rotten stuff that’s been happening (you know, to balance out the bad with some year end good) or if people just are starting to get back on their feet finance wise. Whatever it is, that sentiment is continuing into the new year.

IMG_20150107_180722

These flowers are one such example. I found this display in an office building, while I was getting some paperwork done for my new job. At first I was a little surprised, but once I noticed that these plants were the real deal, I understood. Plants are living creatures, not things to be thrown away when their purpose is complete.

They haven’t gone completely green yet and seem to be doing well, so I assume someone’s taking care of them. That make me glad.

IMG_20150107_180741

When I was a little girl, I used to be so envious of my grandmother’s plants. She would receive half-dead cuttings from her sister, and from them, manage to grow spectacular plants. These plants would live for years! I, on the other hand, am complete rubbish when it comes to taking care of anything that isn’t a cat.

Anyway, for my 8th birthday, my grandmother gave me a supposedly indestructible plant, that she claimed would survive my mother’s chain smoking and the lack of sunlight in our apartment. As she said, it did thrive, sat on my windowsill until I was about 15.

Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

Leave a Reply

