Crafting with Ren

IMG_20141118_180219

I’ve been doing a bit of crafting lately, in preparation for the holidays. This year’s theme is up-cycling. This is mostly due to my being a poor college student. But I have to admit that it’s been pretty fun. Also, Brother has been amazed by my “skills” whenever I text him a picture of my handiwork. ((the above is an attempt at a poinsettia used on my mom’s gift))

I’ve been making old magazines into Christmas decorations and wrapping paper. I found a tutorial online for making hand crafted bows, so I thought I would try it out.

IMG_20141118_175635

It looks simple, but really isn’t as easy as it looks. I may or may not have accidentally stapled my finger to a piece of paper as well.

IMG_20141118_173651

These will be used for decoration on my male friends’ presents (also wrapped in magazine pages). The pages I used for the bows are from a cooking magazine, which I like reading for the recipes. The backgrounds are usually pretty mellow colors, but there are some really pretty pictures of food too.

IMG_20141118_171518

I love how the text looks along the ridges. I know my friends will be sitting there, trying to read what it says, since it’s mostly in Japanese. I want to say it adds character.

IMG_20141118_185452

For the ladies, I made some over-sized poinsettia flowers in place of the bows. I tried to add color where I could so it doesn’t look like a blob of text with no shape. Also, folding the tips made the whole flower look more like a flower.

IMG_20141118_185255

I think they came out pretty well.

Lastly, we have the Christmas Lotus. It was supposed to be a bow, but went a tad off somewhere along the way. Ironically, this can be called “Ren no ren” or Ren’s Lotus.

IMG_20141118_191942

 

Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

Leave a Reply

