May Flowers 01

IMG_20140424_185730

They say, “April showers bring May flowers”, but what do May flowers bring? The short answer: Bees. You can’t see him in this shot, but around this group of flowers was a honey bee collecting nectar and pollinating the lovely buds.

Personally, bees aren’t my favorite creatures. I mean, I don’t mind honey or bumble bees too much– they don’t go out of their ways to sting people– but I absolutely hate yellow jackets and their more hornet like cousins.  I have a deep fear of Japan’s ōsuzumebachi (which is technically a hornet although the word bee is used in the name).  During my stay in Japan, I saw one morning news story on the creature and if I wasn’t afraid of it before, I sure as hell am now.

But like I said before, bumble bees don’t bother me at all. They aren’t mean and they just kind of fly around hitting into things: be it flowers or people. Hence their names, I guess. My uncle once said that the only time you have to be careful around them is in September when their fur gets all needle like.  Walking around, I’ve noticed a lot of bees this spring: especially of the bumble variety. I’ve been seeing them everywhere! Has anyone else noticed this too?

 

 

Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

Leave a Reply

