244 of 365

Today I had an unexpected day off so mom and I went into the city to check out the Harry Potter exhibition over on W. 44th and to sell some things to the Book Off on W. 45th (which used to be on E. 41st). For those familiar with the city, you know that the exhibit location took us close to Time Square. Being the shutter but I am, I couldn’t resist getting a few shots of the area most people think of when they think of New York– other than the Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty (which is to my knowledge is closed for remodeling) or the former location of the Twin Towers. Ironically enough, this is only the second time I’ve been to Time Sq. myself, since my usual haunts are between E. 33rd and E.42 (excluding the newly moved Book Off).

It was beyond crowded today, though I’m guessing that was because of the holiday weekend coming up. Trying to  navigate the crowds was like seeing how many walls you could walk into and not give up. It was a literal sea of people, surrounded on all sides by flashing neon.

There we met the Naked Cowboy, (Read more at  http://www.nakedcowboy.com/) who is known to walk around there clad in not more than a pair of underwear (on the back of which is written “The Naked Cowboy” in blue and red paint), cowboy boots, a cowboy hat, and his trusty guitar (which I learned has a cool cut out in which to place tips). He was a really nice guy who I really recommend meeting.  I was able to have a picture taken with him– which I’m not posting here– before we found our way to the Discovery Museum for the exhibit.

Let me tell you, long line is LONG. The exhibit is closing up September 5th, so it seemed everyone and their mother (pun intended) was there. There was a line to get tickets (which we should have done online, though this was a bit of a spontaneous thing), a line to get in, a line to stand on once you got into the main hall, a line to go down the stairs, and a line to get into the damn exhibit. Everyone did seem to take it well though, which is the opposite of what New Yorkers are known for. Everyone was patient and no one tried to cut.

Once we got in, there was no photography allowed, much to my disappointment. However, it is understandable since the venue makes money on people visiting, but I still would have liked to go home with a picture of some of the robes and the recreation of Umbrige’s office (sans moving kitten plates of coase!)

Published by

renmi86

Photographer, Game Designer

Leave a Reply

